| BSB/SB What kind of crazy pitch is this?

rick4bama

Bama Fan since 1965 and counting....
Scholarship Club
Reaction score
It crazy you right about that!

UAgrad93

Jack of all trades!!
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
As an old baseball coach, I would say that it was legal because he maintains contact with the pitching rubber through the entire motion. I don't think he could keep it up through an entire at bat without falling down on his ass. Screwy as hell and he would likely get knocked off the mound the first time.

50+yeartidefan

Bama Club
Reaction score
As an old baseball coach, I would say that it was legal because he maintains contact with the pitching rubber through the entire motion. I don't think he could keep it up through an entire at bat without falling down on his ass. Screwy as hell and he would likely get knocked off the mound the first time.
I was hoping a baseball coach or umpire would comment....
For one who played a lot of baseball growing up ( and pitched).....i didnt have a clue....lol

TUSKtimes

Riding The Wave
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
He reminds me a lot of this Asian dude this week at Pebble Beach.

UAgrad93

Jack of all trades!!
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
I was hoping a baseball coach or umpire would comment....
For one who played a lot of baseball growing up ( and pitched).....i didnt have a clue....lol
To be honest though, I would likely go out and argue the first time I saw it and make the umpire show it to me in the rule book.

UAgrad93

Jack of all trades!!
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
Let me add to this. It is much like the separation of the throwing hand from the glove in the stretch, like patting it. If he only does it once, then it is a balk, but if it is in his motion every single throw, it is allowed. This would make me question the legality of this motion as well. Just a little more food for thought.

BAMAneck

Extra Point Club
Reaction score