| FTBL Say what you will about Lincoln Riley as a coach. One thing that's a definite and it has to do with brisket.

Sgt. Lincoln Osiris

Lead farmer
Crimson Tide Club
Oof.

I take it this is his first attempt at brisket.

I've never tried to smoke it before. I've only done ribs, butts, chicken, and turkey. Enough people loved my bbq that they thought it was an outstanding idea to startup a food truck a few years ago. So, I've grown an affinity for smoking meat. And from what I've learned (although I've never actually smoked brisket before), is that brisket is the most finicky when it comes to patience, because it's the most dense of any of the meats I've successfully smoked before.

So SUPER slow and low is the absolute key here.

Looks like he either accidentally let his smoke fire get too hot and it rendered out the fat too quickly, or he decided last minute to try a brisket way too late and decided he could smoke it hotter and faster. In EITHER case, he let it get too hot so the fat cooked out too quickly, drying it out.

He still could've possibly gotten away with halfway decent brisket at a higher/faster method, had he compensated time correctly and wrapped it sooner. But I'm sure he didn't.

Odds are the bark started prematurely forming because of a hotter fire, so he wrapped it too late after most of the fat had dripped out.

I've been under a time crunch before and was able to pull of some pretty dang good pulled pork with a hotter/faster method at around 300-350 degrees. But, I had to keep an close eye on it and wrap it as SOON as I saw bark starting to carmelize on the edges. Turned out well, but I had to constantly babysit it. Slow and low is the way to go.

And ole "Linc" here crashed and burned.

Brandon Van de Graaff

A defensive deity, inventor of the Concussion.
Ivory Club