| LIFE Mac or PC

XXL TideFan

Don't go there
Bama Club
Reaction score
I seek your learned opinions on a laptop for my daughter starting college.

rocknthefreeworld

Verified Member
Century Club
Reaction score
What is she going to school for? Mac is best for the "creative" majors like theater, arts, music, etc. For everything else PC is a better option. If price is a consideration at all then you can get twice the PC for the same price as a Mac also.

planomateo

Ivory Club
Reaction score

Brandon Van de Graaff

A defensive deity, inventor of the Concussion.
Ivory Club
Reaction score
I'm far from an expert on the subject, but I'll offer this... My MacBook Pro is 10 years old and still works great (other than the poor battery life). My wife got a Surface Pro two years ago. It has been buggy as hell from day 1 and I hate it.

XXL TideFan

Don't go there
Bama Club
Reaction score
BSRN program. Starting her AS work at Jeff State while applying for dual admission at UAB. Can have her BS in 5 semesters but it would be hard.

XXL TideFan

Don't go there
Bama Club
Reaction score
Read an article or two on the AMD mobile processor that gives a Mac Pro a run on speed. It will probably be a windows PC, I would like it to last her 4 years.

doemasters

The Rowdy One
Ivory Club
Reaction score
Would buy a Mac if it was me, I have both but depends on what she will be using it for

rocknthefreeworld

Verified Member
Century Club
Reaction score
Be mindful of when you buy if you go mac. They are changing processors and os this year and that means a lot of software will not work properly. Going from x86 to ARM means problems street coming.

planomateo

Ivory Club
Reaction score
Just bought my oldest a new 13" Mac with an M1 chip. Was iffy on the M1, but didn't want to spend similar money on a year old intel Mac.

I'm just not a Mac fan myself. Owned 3-4 over the years. My laptop must have a touchscreen at this point. Last two have and I really prefer it.