| LIFE I’m leaving the company

bamaledge

Vigilate, et audax
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
I’ve been a store manager after 17 years. These last two years have been hell because of not enough help and/or sub par help and working a lot of hours but you get ridiculed if you’re sick.
I let them know I was putting in a two week notice and the first thing out of HR’s mouth was, “if you don’t put in a 4 week notice you’ll lose your earned vacation time.”
Not, what’s going on? How can we keep you? Or anything like that. I would like someone in corporate to ask themselves why a manager of 17 years would even consider leaving. Their loss.
Anyway, should I be totally honest in the exit interview or professional?
Pete

bamaledge

Vigilate, et audax
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
That’s not all of the reasons, just a few.

BamaFan334

Verified Member
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
Be honest, it could potentially help your co-workers. I don't like regrets, and saying things you should have said eat at me.

Brandon Van de Graaff

A defensive deity, inventor of the Concussion.
Ivory Club
Reaction score
You can be both honest and professional if you do it right. I was in a similar situation a few years ago with a company I had been with for 10 years. I had a unique perspective on some things because of my position (as I'm sure you do), and I think they appreciated my honesty.

planomateo

Ivory Club
Reaction score
At this point in my career, I have to care to give feedback. If I don't think it's gonna do any good, then I don't give it.

That being said, I doubt you'll even get an exit interview.

bamaledge

Vigilate, et audax
Crimson Tide Club
Reaction score
Thanks guys. I preciate your replies, and @planomateo, I’m like you. I really don’t care because if they wanted my opinion they would have asked already. I know they are glad to get rid of my salary and pay someone a half or a little more than half of what I make.

It Takes Eleven

Quoth the Raven...
Scholarship Club